Enter Now! Scotland’s Finest Woods Award 2018

Scotland's Finest Woods Awards

Scotland’s Finest Woods are now open for entries to the 2018 Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards.

This year sees the first ever category for farmers, as well as the usual categories for communities, new native and commercial woods, quality timber and schools anywhere in Scotland.

A short list of entrants in each category will be visited by a team of judges in April/May.

Community Woodlands Award

  1. Small community woodland groups
  2. Large community woodland groups

£1,000 to be awarded to the winner in each category.

In addition, the Tim Stead Trophy is also awarded to the overall Community Woodland Award category winner judged to be the best community project overall regardless of the size of woodland group.

Farm Woodland Award – New for 2018

The winner will be awarded the Lilburn Trophy and £1,000.

New Native Woods Award

The winner will be awarded the Woodland Trust Scotland Trophy and £1,000.

Quality Timber Award

  1. New commercial woods
  2. Single stand of trees or a compartment of a small wood
  3. Whole estates or forests

Trophy and £1,000 awarded to the winner in each category

Schools Award

For Scotland’s most fun-packed school woodland projects.

£500 will be awarded to the winner, and £250 for the runner-up. Both will also receive tree packs and a mag post.

News source: http://www.sfwa.co.uk